top of page

Beginning my assignment

So for assignment 2 of EMA 300 I needed to choose a subject to research and record my developing thoughts and understandings in a blog. I choose ethnomatematics....why you might ask. Well that would be a good question and I will give my answer here. It was the topic I knew least about, in fact I was unable to give a clear definition of what ethnomatematics even was, when I read the assignment sheet. I decided to go on a short quest to discover what ethnomathmatics was before I set my mind to this topic. Through a quick google search I gave myself a basic education and learnt that it was the relationship between culture and mathematics. While this gave me a simple understanding I knew my next step needed to be to find a more academic reading and develop my understanding into something more acceptable....and more importantly how such a topic could help me to be a better teacher in the future.


 Welcome 

 

Thank you for visiting my sight. I hope you enjoy reading about my journey of discovery.

​

               ........................

​

Ethnomatematics is a concept I was unfamiliar with at the beginning of this assignemnt, however I now hope that one day my classroom will be one that values and encourages studenst to see and connect with the maths I teach in a personal way, no matter what culture they are from.

 FOLLOW THE ARTIFACT: 
  • Facebook B&W
  • Twitter B&W
  • Instagram B&W
 RECENT POSTS: 
 SEARCH BY TAGS: 
No tags yet.
bottom of page